Past Blogs Archive


Energy Bill Legislation: A Blow to Alternative Energy

Posted December 15th, 2007
On December 13th, the US Senate voted on a watered down version of the bill that left alternative energy supporters agast. By a vote of 59-40, just one vote short of the number needed, the Senate failed to include a tax title in the 2007 energy bill that would have provided investment and production tax credits for renewable energies.

What was left of the bill was absent investment tax credits, production tax credits and a national renewable electricity standard (RES). This portion of the bill was voted through easily with an 85-12 vote. This bill contains automobile mileage standards for new cars, a renewable fuels mandate, and provisions for energy efficiency in federal government departments that, while a step in the right direction, is much less than what we can do as the world's most powerful nation.

Meanwhile, on the other side of the world in Bali, a UN global warming conference is taking huge steps forward to eliminate our carbon footprint upon the world. When will we as Americans, the ones with the most power to act, step up to the plate and show some leadership?

Why is there such a pronounced party-line vote on this issue? (see below) I welcome any Republicans reading this to step up to the plate and either denounce their party's actions on this, or show us why Republicans came out in droves to vote against this bill.

What does this mean for the solar community & homeowners interested in a solar-powered home? Many within the industry are fearful that some solar businesses will go under without government support. They are afraid that projects currently in planning stages may be in jeopardy of being aborted. They believe this will deter some homeowners from setting up solar systems because of the larger economic burden to do so now without government tax rebates.

Here is a list of the "nay" voters in the Senate:

Republican Senators Voting ‘Nay’ on Vote for Energy Bill Tax Title

Stevens (AK), Sessions, Shelby (AL), Kyl (AZ), Allard (CO), Martinez (FL) Chambliss, Isakson (GA), Craig, Crapo (ID), Brownback, Roberts (KS) Bunning, McConnell (KY), Vitter (LA), Bond (MO), Cochran, Lott (MS) Burr, Dole (NC), Hagel (NE), Gregg, Sununu (NH), Domenici (NM) Ensign (NV), Voinovich (OH), Coburn, Inhofe (OK), Specter (PA) DeMint, Graham (SC), Alexander, Corker (TN), Cornyn, Hutchison (TX) Bennett (UT), Warner (VA), Barrasso, Enzi (WY)

Republican Senators Not Voting on Energy Bill Cloture Vote

McCain (AZ):
What is McCain Thinking? Arizona has the largest Solar energy potential of any state in the US.

Democratic Senators Voting ‘Nay’ on Vote for Energy Bill Tax Title

Landrieu (LA)